Question Bank

The treatment in Ayurveda can be classified broadly into two methods- a. Shamana Chikitsa (Alleviating Therapy) b. Sodhana Chikitsa (Purification Therapy)

There are three main methods of diagnosis in Ayurveda .They are Darsana Pareeksha – By observing the patient’s physical signs and symptoms.

The harmony and the balance of the Doshas, Dhatus, Malas and Agni in the body is the primary condition of the health.

Body frame-medium to broad. Easily gains Weight. Skin is smooth, thick and slightly oily. Sweating is moderate. Appetite is moderate and bowel habit is regular.They are of stable nature. From them it takes time to memorize but once happen, it is forever

They are of medium body frame. Skin usually delicate, light colored and prone to sunburn. Sweating is excessive. Good appetite and rarely constipated. Have capacity to perform vigorous exercise. They are practical in life. Memory- good.

These persons are either short/long but often with a thin body frame, underweight. Skin is dark, dry with cracksAppetite- variable, mostly suffer from constipation. Sleep-light. They remember easily and forget easily & are very active.

There are seven possible Prakriti (constitution) types – a) Vata Prakriti b) Pitta Prakriti c) Kapha Prakriti d) Vata – Pitta Prakrit e) Vata – Kapha Prakriti f) Pitta – Kapha Prakriti g) Tridosha Prakriti

Every person is born with a definite genetic constitution, depending upon Doshas, there are three major types of Prakriti.

Agni is considered as biological fire Ayurveda considers about thirteen types of 'Agnis'. 1. Jatharagni -. 2. Dhatvagni 3. Bhutagni

The word 'Mala' means excretal products. Ayurveda has a unique concept of Malas. e.g common excreta - urine. Excess urination may cause dehydration and electrolyte imbalance.

W.H.O. has an open mind on Traditional Medicine. However, it endorses only that therapy which has solid scientific evidence with no toxicity. In view of this Ayurveda is duly recognised by W.H.O.

Ayurvedic treatment.Ayurveda helps for a synergistic activity while at other places to antagonise and minmise the toxicity of modern drugs.

Ayurveda has a wide scope as far as the prevention of disease, promotion of health and its preservation are concerned

Ayurvedic medicines are marketed in various forms. The main ones are tablets, pills, powders, fermentation products (Asva-arishta), decoctions, medicated fats (Ghrita and Tail).

Whatever is natural whether belonging to plants or animals or minerals: all are considered the source of raw material for Ayurvedic medicines.

The main classical texts for reference of Ayurvedic principles comprise of Charak Samhita, Susrut Samhita, Astang Hridaya, Sharangdhar Samhita, Madhav Nidan, Kashyap Samhita, Bhavprakash and Bhaisajya Ratnavali etc.

Inspection, palpation, percussion and interrogation.

As per Ayurveda, ‘Health’ is a state of equilibrium of normal functions of doshas, Dhatus, malas and Agni with delighted body, mind and soul.

Modern medicine treats the symptoms in the short term, rather than addressing the root cause of a patient’s suffering. Ayurveda looks at a longer-term solution to a patient suffering from diseases.

H1N1 Influenza virus



Louis Pasteur and Émile Roux

Christiaan Barnard

Jonas Edward Salk


Femur (Thigh Bone)


Three Doshas namely Vata Pitta and Kaphaare the basic constituents of the body, responsible for maintaining homeostasis in the body.

As per Ayurveda, Pancha Mahabhuta means "five elements" & are said to be present in everything in the universe & human body. These elements are: Prithvi(Earth), Jal (Water), Agni (Fire), Vayu (Air), Aakasha(Space ).

Acharya Patanjali.

Rasa-shastra was not a branch of Ayurveda, but eventually for the treatment of ailments of human beings it has been blended with Ayurveda with the passage of time.

The five panchkarmas are Vamana(Emesis), Virechana(Purgation), Basti (Enema), Nasya (Nasal Invasion), Raktamokshana (Bloodletting).

Panchakarma is the unique purification & detoxification process of body which ultimately helps in the treatment of the diseases. Panchakarma are five in number.

The six taste are known as Shadrasa Madhur Amla Lavana Katu Tikta Kashaya

Madhavnidan, Bhavprakash ,Sharangshara Samhita.


The three basic text of ayurveda are: Charak Samhita Sushruta samhita Ashtang hridaya

Darshan, sparshan, prashan is the three main examining tools to diagnose a patient.

Hetu( cause,( sign& sympathy), Aushadhi( treatment).

120 days


Heart disease

Balance and equilibrium


Vinca/ Periwincle


Aloe vera

Rapid heartbeat and lower heartbeat


2 Paksha i.e. Krishna Paksha and Shukla Paksha together make one masa.

15 Ahoratra make one Paksha.

13 Muhurata make one Ahoratra.

One day and one night together make one Ahoratra. It is of 24 Hrs.

A day consist of 8 Prahara.

48 Minutes make a Muhurata.

Kledaka, Avalambaka, Bodhaka, Tarpaka and Shleshaka are the five types of Kapha Dosha.

Pachaka, Ranjaka, Alochaka, Sadhaka and Bhrajaka are the five types of Pita Dosha.

Prana, Udana, Samana, Apana and Vyana are the five types of Vata Dosha.

Pancha Mahabhuta are originated from Panchtanmantra.

The place of Agya Chakra is between the eyebrows.

The place of Vishudha Chakra is Throat region.

The place of Anahata Chakra is in Heart region.

The place of Manipura Chakra is in the umbilicus

The place of Swadhisthana Chakra is in between Muladhara Chakra and Manipura Chakra.

The place of Muladhara Chakra is near anal region.

Muladhara Chakra, Swadhisthana Chakra, Manipura Chakra, Anahata Chakra, Vishudha Chakra, Agya Chakra

Shaucha, Santosha, Tapa, Swadhayaya, Ishwara Pranidhana

Ahinsa, Satya, Asteya, Aparigraha, Brahmcharya

Dhauti, Basti, Neti, Nauli, Tratak, Kapal Bhati

Dharma (righteousness, moral values); Artha (prosperity, economic values); Kama (pleasure, love, psychological values); and Moksha (liberation, spiritual values).

Asthtanga Ayurveda constitutes 8 branches of ayurveda namely. Kaya Chikitsa (Medicine), Bala / kaumarya bhritya (Paediatrics), Graha Chikitsa (Bhoot Vidya), Shalakaya (ENT), Shalaya (Surgery), Agada, Rasayana (Rejuvenation Therapy), Vajikarana Chikitsa

AYUSH stands for 5 different Streams of Indian System of Medicines. A- Ayurveda Y- Yoga U- Unani S- Siddha H- Homeopathy

Acharaya Sushruta is known as Father of Surgery. He was the first person to introduce Surgery to the world.

Acharaya Charaka is known as Father of Indian Medicine.

The basic principle of Ayurveda involves swasthasya swasthya rakshanam (maintenance of good health in healthy people), aaturasya vikara prasahamanam (cure of disease).

Ashwin au / Ashwini Kumar known to be Vaidas of the Deities.

Lord Dhanvantri is known as the Father of Ayurveda.Lord Dhanwantri arose from Samudra-Manthan from the Ksheera Sagar with the nectar of immortality. He is known as Avtar (incarnation) of Lord Vishnu in the puranas.

Vedas are the ures written by Maharishi Veda Vyas during Vedic Kala. They are as follows: - 1. Riga Veda 2.Yajur Veda 3.Sama Veda 4.Athara Veda Ayurveda has been originated from Atharva-veda.

Ayurveda derived from word ayur(life) and veda(science or knowledge).Ayurveda is an ancient science of Life with a holistic approach to health and personalized medicine.